In the Members Only section of your website, your members have the ability to log in and submit changes to the profile information you keep for them in your database, such as general contact info, social media links, category listings and preferences, and more. In 2015 we introduced a new and improved "Update Your Contact Information" form that improves speed and ease-of-use for your members, and along with the new form is a new interface for approving those changes.
When a change is submitted through the Members Only portal, an email notification is sent to the address indicated in your web preferences "Admin Email" (Admin > Set Preferences > Web Preferences, click on the Web Defaults/Members Only tab).
To view and approve or reject changes, go to Profiles > Profile Change Requests (from Web). You can also log in to Atlas in your web browser and go to Profiles > Change Requests. Note that you'll also be able to approve change requests that came in prior to using the new form with the menu item "Profile Change Requests (From Web) - Legacy.
In the grid, you'll see all change requests that have not yet been processed. If you'd like to filter further by date, or search for processed requests, you can use the search features above the grid.
In the grid, you'll see some details regarding which profile was change, which profile/person was actually logged in to make the change and their contact info, and a few other details:
- Changed Profile: the name and profile ID of the profile to which changes were made online. An icon indicates whether the profile is an organization or individuals, and a member or non-member. You can click the profile name to open the (current) profile in a new window.
- Status: Indicates whether the change has been approved, rejected, or is still pending.
- Date Changed: shows the date the change was submitted from your website.
- Changed By: the name of the profile that was logged in to make the change. For example, this may be a main contact, logging in on behalf of their organization to submit changes. You can also click on this profile name to view in a new browser window.
- Email/Phone: The email and phone number of the profile indicated in the Changed By column.
To view the changes submitted for any profile listed, click "Review" for that row. A window opens displaying the different areas of the profile that were changed, and you can click through each section to see the requests. You'll see a column for the old value, and a column for the requested change. Only changes will display - any fields that remain the same will are hidden.
If you need to further edit any changes before approving them, all changed fields are editable for you to fix typos, etc.
If a new item is added, such as an additional address or new category listing, it will display with a "New" tag above it:
Once you have reviewed all of the changes in all sections (and made any of your own changes as necessary), click Approve. The changes will automatically be made to the profile.
If you would not like the profile to be updated automatically, click Reject. The requested changes will not be made and the profile will not change. Note that you cannot approve some changes and reject others that were submitted together - when you click Approve or Reject, that action will be applied to all requested changes for that submission.
Please sign in to leave a comment.