Configuring your Online Profile Update Form

In the Members Only section of your website, your members have the ability to log in and submit changes to the profile information you keep for them in your database, such as general contact info, social media links, category listings and preferences, and more. The Profile Update Form that appears in the members Only area of your website has a settings area that allows you to configure the form to work for your unique association. This article reviews the different fields and settings you can configure to optimize your update form.

Follow these steps to access the Profile Update Form settings:

  1. Go to Admin > Set Preferences > Profile Update Form Settings. The Profile Update Form Settings window appears.

    settings.jpg



  2. To enable the updated form, click open the first section, "Enable Profile Update Form," and click the checkbox to enable the form. All links to the update form, including any you send in emails, etc. will be directed to the new version of the form.
  3. Click Save Settings.

 Once the new form is enabled, you can determine which database fields will show and be editable on the form for individuals, organizations, and both in the corresponding three sections. Each available field has a checkbox to enable/disable, and there are options to customize the labels on the fields as well:

settings1.jpg

 

Note that in the "Information for Organization and Individual" section, you can enable the selection of Affiliation codes that you have set to show in Members Only (click here for more information on creating affiliation codes). Check the checkbox on this setting to have those Affiliation codes displayed:

settings2.jpg

 

In the Listings section of this screen, you can determine whether you want to allow profiles to add, edit and delete their category listings on their profile. In addition, you can set a limit to the number of categories a profile can assign themselves, and allow them to determine which is their "primary" listing category. Long description, short description, and listing keywords can also be enabled and/or relabeled to appear on the form:

listingconfig.jpg

NOTE that if someone adds a category listing to their profile but your online directory has filters that prevent that profile from being displayed, the listing will be created in your database but that profile will NOT be displayed in the online directory.

 

 In the Related Profiles section, you can indicate whether you would like profiles to be able to edit profiles to which they are related. There are several important settings in this section that will give your members and their employees the correct permissions to be able to edit their information.

In Atlas, profiles can be individuals OR organizations, and are related to each other. In the new Profile Update Form, an Organization can log in and indicate any related individuals they would like to give permission to edit the organization profile. In addition to manually indicating "Editors" among an organization's related profiles, you can set the Main Contact of an organization to always have the ability to edit on behalf of their related organization.

approve2.jpg

If this box is checked, then the "Main Contact" of any organization can log in with their individual login (found on the web tab of their individual profile), and still be able to edit the organization information as well as any other items you've allowed the organization to edit, like other related profiles. They are acting as a "proxy" for the organization, even if they log in individually. 

If an organization logs in (with the username/password on the organization profile), they can edit all related individuals as long you've enabled related profile editing - no need to set the organization as an "editor" for each one.

Confirming Changes

You can determine whether you would like an email to be sent to the member to confirm their changes, as well as add a custom message on the confirmation email:

updatesettings.jpg

If enabled, this email will be delivered to the email address on the profile that logged in to make the changes. 

Paying Invoices for Related Profiles

If your membership is primarily organization-based, you may have people logging in to Members Only with their individual usernames and passwords - even though your invoices are assigned to the organization profile. With this enhancement, you can enable a feature that allows Editors of any organization to also view and pay the invoices of their related organization.

To enable this settings, go to Admin > Set Preferences > Profile Update Form Settings, and click on the Related Profiles section. Check the box for "Allow Profiles with Edit Permission to view other profiles' Online Bill Pay page and Pay" and save. The following button will appear on the organization for all related profiles with editing permission:

onlinebillpay.jpg

Once you have completed making changes to all of your settings, be sure to click the Save Settings button at the bottom of the screen.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This feature is included or available for purchase with the following Atlas packages.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Want some training on Atlas? Sign up today for one of our upcoming online training classes.